top of page
  • vjaje1

God is Good - Part 2

Scriptures that highlights this attribute or quality:

Psalm 107:1

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.


Psalm 119:68

You are good, and what you do is good; teach me your decrees.


Lamentations 3:22-26

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.


Matthew 7:11

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!


Romans 8:28

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.



Prayer of Praise:

God, I praise You today for being Good, even as I sometimes wrestle with what that means. I see so many things around me that don’t seem good at all. I see natural disasters, innocence destroyed by others, injustice, and political corruption. None of that is good, and the sin in this world grieves Your heart. You could intervene, but often You don’t. That can be a struggle to reconcile. In my own life I can be confronted with real tragedy…a difficult medical diagnosis, a shattered relationship, financial challenges, crippling mental health issues, children in crisis. It can be easy to fall into a trap of spiritual blindness, not noticing Your goodness. No matter the circumstances, I know these things to be true: Your love endures forever; Your compassions never fail; You give good gifts – chief among them: salvation and the Holy Spirit; You are with me; You are for me; You comfort me and bring peace; I will spend eternity with You. God, You do good and You are good. When things in my life and the world don’t seem good to me, You are near, holding me close. I have the promise that in all things You work for the good of those who love You. That gives me hope…You are able and still working out the details in seemingly insurmountable situations. Maybe I’ll be in heaven before I understand it all, before I comprehend how You resolve everything for good. But eventually You will right every wrong with justice. And in the meantime, I can taste and see Your goodness around me when I look. I can experience Your presence when I cry out. God, I praise You as Good because Your character is good: morally right and virtuous. Help me to remember that Your goodness isn’t dependent on my circumstances. You are always Good, and I praise You. Amen.



Article excerpt: What Does the Goodness of God Really Mean?

…God is just as good to the people who lose their jobs in corporate downsizing as he is to the people who earn a promotion.

God is just as good to the people who drown in a tsunami as he is to the people who are rescued.

God is just as good to the young women who died of breast cancer as he was to me when I survived it.

Isn't God good?

YES! The answer is always a resounding YES. GOD IS GOOD!

But we have GOT to stop only talking about his goodness when an unexpectedly pleasant thing happens. Because God's goodness is not dependent on an outcome or an emotion or a barely-missed-doom story.

God is not good because we avoid danger.

God is good because when the storms of life hit, he comes closer to us than the storm ever could.

He holds us in his loving arms.

He doesn't change.

He doesn't falter.

He doesn't quit.

He doesn't leave.

And no matter what, he never lets go.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God is Good

Scriptures that highlight this attribute or quality: Nahum 1:7 The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him, Psalm 34:8 Taste and see that the Lord is good;

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page