top of page
  • vjaje1

God is Comforter - Part 2

Scripture that highlights this attribute or quality:

2 Corinthians 1:3-5

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ.


Psalm 94:19

When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.


Psalm 118:5

In my distress I prayed to the Lord, and the Lord answered me and set me free.


Matthew 11:28-29

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.


Romans 15:5

May God, who gives this patience and encouragement, help you live in complete harmony with each other, as is fitting for followers of Christ Jesus.


Prayer of Praise:

Father God, You are my Comforter. Your comfort gives me renewed hope and sets me free. It is filled with patience and encouragement. You love me and invite me to give all my burdens to You in exchange for rest for my soul. You are gentle and humble in heart. You aren’t harsh or punishing. You don’t belittle me for mistakes or react in anger. Just the opposite: You open Your arms to me and hold me close. I need the comfort that only You can give.


I can think of so many times when You have comforted me, times when I have been desperate and alone, and You have met me with compassion and grace. [List them.]


You’ve designed Your children to share the comfort that we ourselves have received from You. We can comfort each other because we have experienced Your perfect comfort. When we are following You and attuned to Your leading, You allow us to be Your hands and feet, extending Your comforting touch. You help us notice the needs of others and react with empathy. You equip us to reach out intentionally, extending kindness, patience, and comfort with those who are struggling.


Give me a heart for what breaks Your heart, positioning me to respond like You, with comfort and tenderness. Open my eyes to the hurting around me so I can reach out with the comfort that I have received, pointing the hurting to Your compassionate love. I praise You as the God of all Comfort who comforts me in all my troubles. Amen.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God is Comforter

Scripture that highlights this attribute or quality: Psalm 23:4 Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they com

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page