top of page
  • vjaje1

God is Hope

Scriptures that highlight this attribute or quality:

Isaiah 40:28-31

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.


Lamentations 3:21-25

Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him;


Jeremiah 29:11-13

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.


Romans 15:4

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.


Romans 15:13

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.


Hebrews 6:17-20

God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. Jesus has already gone in there for us. He has become our eternal High Priest in the order of Melchizedek.



Article excerpt: A Definition of Hope What is hope? Is it a wishy washy maybe or a kind of unsure optimism? The modern idea of hope is “to wish for, to expect, but without certainty of the fulfillment; to desire very much, but with no real assurance of getting your desire.”

In Scripture, according to the Hebrew and Greek words translated by the word “hope” and according to the biblical usage, hope is an indication of certainty. “Hope” in Scripture means “a strong and confident expectation.” Though archaic today in modern terms, hope is akin to trust and a confident expectation. Bible.org



Prayer of Praise:

Holy God, today I praise You as my Hope. Because of Your continued love and presence, I have confident expectation that You are working all things for good. Because I have hope in You, I know that the way things are now (in any difficulty) is not the way they will remain. You are making all things new. You are at work transforming hearts, changing perspectives, reversing situations, improving problems, healing. I have hope that You are renewing my strength, helping me not only cope with challenges but also ‘soar on wings like eagles.’ I have hope that Your compassions never fail, and You are faithful. I have hope that You have plans for my future, plans to prosper me (and those I love). I have hope that You give endurance and peace. I have hope of spending eternity with You, when everything will be made perfect. I have hope that You will right every wrong. Hope in You helps me persevere in faith and face troubles knowing You are with me, strengthening and comforting me. In the middle of uncertainty and chaos, the hope You give means I can experience true peace. Because I have hope in You, I can have joy no matter what comes my way. God, I praise You for the Hope You bring, a strong and trustworthy anchor for my soul. Amen.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God is Hope - Part 2

Scripture that highlights this attribute or quality: 1 Peter 1:3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the r

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page